My Career Path as a Sonographer

09/26/2014 23:37

scan My name is Terry, I am an sonographer at the royal Alexandra hospital, I am an eighth grad, I graduated in two thousand and nine from the diagnostic medical sonography program, as an ultrasound technologist, many people think we just scan babies but we scan a lot more, we are certified in general which includes obstetrics and abdomen, we are also certified in vascular which includes carotids and leg vessels and we are also certified in echo cardiography which includes the heart.
 Ultrasound technicians are a critical, essential component of our day to day function for patient care and they do get excellent training to be able to perform at that level, from our perspective, without their support we would not be able to do our job.
 I was hired a few months before I graduated, every one from our class had a job, I was really well prepared, we had great practicum’s and the teachers were great, ultrasound is definitely a challenging field, it’s always changing, nobody is same on the inside so each case is different, you see new pathology each case. I always get excited when I show babies, especially to the dad for the first time, I am usually the lightest one and people can tell down the hall, oh Kaylee is showing a baby cause they can hear the inflection of my voice, Oh my gosh the baby smiles.
I always get excited when I show new babies, a great day is when everything goes smoothly and all of your cases are good ones, you are proud of your work, you are taking pictures to show to the doctor, this is what I see, it’s when you get a really good picture and find a pathology that was really hard to find, that’s when it feels really good like you did a great job.